Puerile Politics


Record label
Catalog Number
Release Date
February 7th 2020


A1And So The Feckless FallKeepsakes6:38
A2Blue Boy Fucks It AllKeepsakes5:59
B1Ignorant IronyKeepsakes6:29
B2Ignorant IronyKeepsakes remix UVB6:23

Haven is kicking off 2020 with a boom with a new EP of politically pessimistic dance-floor-ready weapons from label boss Keepsakes. Following on from his exploration of chunky slow rippers on 2019's "Modern Anxious Vernacular", this next edition in the Haven mastermind's discography puts greater emphasis on rhythmic groove for the dancers among us. The record starts with "And So The Feckless Fall" on the A1, featuring shuffling drum rhythms and ethereal vocal work, descending in to a menacing, swung synth-line for maximum club effect. This is followed by "Blue Boy Fucks It All" on the A2. Reminiscent of the slo-mo bangers of Keepsakes' last EP, this crawler of a track is initially propelled by its moody synth melody and booming drums, with a mid-track switch up putting melancholic pad chords front-and-centre. The flip side begins with "Ignorant Irony" - a certified floor smasher prioritizing groove with it's swinging drum rhythms, cheeky vocal samples and sinister synth sounds. The record ends with a remix of the B1 from UVB - who re-imagines the track in to a sneering, ominous slammer, with brutal yet groovy drum work and sampling closing the EP with another no-nonsense banger. All tracks produced and mixed by James Barrett Mastered by Simon at The Exchange Vinyl