Basic Principles


Record label
Catalog Number
Release Date
May 11th 2018


A1Basic Principles6:31

Spanish techno artist Aiken is back on his own Timeline label with another EP that offers up four more of his evocative takes on the genre. It comes after previous outings on Non Series and Semantica and is his label s first release since 2016. Basic Principles is up first and mesmerises with a pulsing lead synth line that forever changes shape. Pummelling drums power along below and add up to a disorientating and hypnotic overall effect. Theory is deeper and more rubbery, with manic synths and pads all racing along and pilling on the pressure while Midline is right out fo the Jeff Mills playbook with its molten sci-fi synths journeying through outer space. Clean, crips drums are upright and taught and get you on your toes, then Restriction closes things out in superb minimalist fashion. This EP covers plenty of ground, and all of it is utterly compelling.